Every published figure in the sport. There are ten of them.
Golf is the sport where the money and the scoreboard come apart. The highest valuation in college golf belongs to a freshman with nine million followers and no college finish; the world’s top-ranked amateur is valued at less than half of it. This page prints every published number, names the one estimator that produces them, and is explicit about how much of the sport carries no number at all.
Two tables, men and women, as the estimator publishes them. Ranks run to 20 here; the estimator ranks 40 per board. A rank without a figure is not a low valuation — it is a valuation the estimator does not publish, which is a different thing and is worth keeping separate.
| # | Athlete | Class | School | Followers | Golf NIL Valuation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Preston Stout | SR | Oklahoma State | 11K | $1M |
| 2 | Luke Poulter | SR | Florida | 32K | $650K |
| 3 | Ryder Cowan | SR | Oklahoma | 13K | $600K |
| 4 | Tyler Watts | FR | Tennessee | 13K | $600K |
| 5 | Ethan Fang | SR | Oklahoma State | 14K | $575K |
| 6 | Kihei Akina | SO | BYU | 7.7K | $500K |
| 7 | Mason Howell | FR | Georgia | 30K | $500K |
| 8 | Jay Leng Jr. | JR | Stanford | — | Unpublished |
| 9 | Jack Whaley | SR | Florida State | — | Unpublished |
| 10 | Josiah Gilbert | SR | Auburn | — | Unpublished |
| 11 | Tyler Weaver | SR | Florida State | — | Unpublished |
| 12 | William Jennings | JR | Alabama | — | Unpublished |
| 13 | Harry Takis | SO | San Diego State | — | Unpublished |
| 14 | Tim Wiedemeyer | SR | Texas Tech | — | Unpublished |
| 15 | Adam Bresnu | SR | Texas Tech | — | Unpublished |
| 16 | Niall Sheils Donegan | JR | North Carolina | — | Unpublished |
| 17 | Arni Sveinsson | JR | LSU | — | Unpublished |
| 18 | Logan Reilly | SO | Auburn | — | Unpublished |
| 19 | Fifa Laopakdee | SR | Arizona State | — | Unpublished |
| 20 | Connor Williams | SR | Arizona State | — | Unpublished |
| # | Athlete | Class | School | Followers | Golf NIL Valuation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Kai Trump | FR | Miami | 9.2M | $2.50M |
| 2 | Maria Jose Marin | SR | Arkansas | — | Unpublished |
| 3 | Andrea Revuelta | JR | Stanford | — | Unpublished |
| 4 | Paula Martin Sampedro | SR | Stanford | — | Unpublished |
| 5 | Farah O’Keefe | SR | Texas | — | Unpublished |
| 6 | Anna Davis | SR | Auburn | — | Unpublished |
| 7 | Marta Silchenko | SR | Oklahoma State | — | Unpublished |
| 8 | Scarlett Schremmer | SO | Miami | — | Unpublished |
| 9 | Rianne Malixi | SO | Duke | — | Unpublished |
| 10 | Patience Rhodes | 5TH | Arizona State | — | Unpublished |
| 11 | Cayetana Fernandez | SR | Texas A&M | — | Unpublished |
| 12 | Eila Galitsky | JR | South Carolina | — | Unpublished |
| 13 | Meja Örtengren | JR | Stanford | — | Unpublished |
| 14 | Bailey Shoemaker | SR | USC | — | Unpublished |
| 15 | Chloe Kovelesky | JR | Wake Forest | — | Unpublished |
Source: Golf NIL college boards, stamped September 24, 2026, retrieved September 28, 2026. Follower counts are the estimator’s. One published figure on the entire forty-name women’s board is itself the finding: the women’s college game has one commercially legible name and thirty-nine the estimator will not price in public.
The highest Golf NIL valuation in the sport is $3 million, and it belongs to Charlie Woods — a high-school senior at The Benjamin School in Jupiter, Florida, committed to Florida State for fall 2027. He reached $3 million in February 2026, the same month he committed, and the figure has not moved since. He is carried here deliberately and separately, because he is not a college golfer and does not belong on a college table. The estimator flags him the same way on its own list. Miles Russell, also a high-school senior, carries $1 million on the same board.
The second-largest figure in the sport, and the largest in college golf, is Kai Trump’s $2.5 million — set before she had played a college event, and raised from $2.25 million earlier in the year. Her 9.2 million followers make her, on the estimator’s description, the most-followed athlete in college sports.
This is the structural fact about golf and it is not true of football. In a revenue sport the valuation follows the depth chart. In golf, the two largest numbers in the sport were set before either athlete played a college round, and both trace to a surname. A football program buys production. A golf endorsement buys an audience, and the audience arrives fully formed from junior golf, from social media, and in these two cases from a parent.
The inverse is just as visible. Preston Stout is the world’s top-ranked amateur, Big 12 Player of the Year, NCAA individual champion, a four-time Walker Cup player, holder of a U.S. Open exemption and a 2027 Masters invitation — and he carries 11,000 followers and $1 million. Luke Poulter, ranked below him on the course, carries 32,000 followers and $650,000. Across the published men’s figures, follower count and world ranking are close to orthogonal. The surname is doing work the scorecard is not.
This is the table the Institute would most like to be able to fill and cannot. Every one of the fifteen most recent tracked college golf NIL agreements — including deals with Nike, Adidas, TaylorMade and Ralph Lauren — carries no public dollar value.
| Date | Athlete | M/F | Counterparty | Value |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9/20/26 | Anna Norris | F | Adidas | Not disclosed |
| 9/10/26 | Kaden Chang | M | Blue Tees Golf | Not disclosed |
| 9/10/26 | Jacob Modleski | M | Fidelity Sports Group | Not disclosed |
| 9/9/26 | Arni Sveinsson | M | Nike | Not disclosed |
| 9/8/26 | William Lisle | M | Win Sports Group | Not disclosed |
| 9/4/26 | Charlie Woods | M | TaylorMade | Not disclosed |
| 8/31/26 | John Doyle | M | APN | Not disclosed |
| 8/28/26 | Sohan Patel | M | Tee Box Fort Lauderdale | Not disclosed |
| 8/24/26 | Amelie Zalsman | F | Excel Sports Management | Not disclosed |
| 8/14/26 | Josiah Gilbert | M | RLX Ralph Lauren | Not disclosed |
| 8/12/26 | Boston Bracken | M | Back Nine Golf | Not disclosed |
| 8/10/26 | Luke Poulter | M | Liberty National Golf Club | Not disclosed |
| 8/8/26 | Jack Turner | M | Johnnie-O | Not disclosed |
| 8/6/26 | Bailey Shoemaker | F | Johnnie-O | Not disclosed |
| 8/4/26 | Kihei Akina | M | Travel + Leisure Co. | Not disclosed |
Source: Golf NIL deal tracker, page one, retrieved September 28, 2026. The Charlie Woods / TaylorMade agreement of September 4, 2026 has a manufacturer press release behind it and still carries no figure. The nearest thing to an exception anywhere in the sport is an equity stake — Kai Trump holds one in Accelerator Active Energy, with a signature product launched in June 2026 — which is a different instrument from a fee and is also unvalued.
What that means for every number above it. A model is normally checked against observed transactions. In college golf there are none to check against. The valuations on this page are therefore the estimator’s view of earning power, calibrated against whatever private information it holds, and no reader — including the Institute — is in a position to test them. That is not a criticism of the estimator, which is doing the only thing available in a market with no disclosure. It is a statement about how much weight the figures can carry.
The settlement lets each school pay its athletes directly, from a pool capped across all sports — $20.5 million in year one and $21.58 million for 2026-27. The year-one figure is retained here beside its successor rather than replaced, because most coverage still quotes it. Nothing in the settlement requires any particular sport to receive any of it. Schools allocate at their own discretion, and the widely reported pattern is that football and men’s basketball absorb close to ninety percent of the pool at most Power 4 schools, leaving the remainder to spread across every other sport on campus.
The Institute has seen an average of roughly $5,187 per athlete cited for all non-revenue sports combined, and prints it here only as a reported figure — it traces to secondary summaries with no stated window, and the Institute has not found a school-level golf allocation anywhere in the reporting. Treat the direction as established and the magnitude as unsourced.
What golf actually got was scholarships, not cash. That is the trade, and it is a real one:
| Golf, per school | Before House | After House |
|---|---|---|
| Men’s scholarships | 4.5, partial-aid model | up to 9 full |
| Women’s scholarships | 6, partial-aid model | up to 9 full |
| Roster limit | none — walk-ons permitted | 9, hard |
Effective 2025-26 at schools that opted into the settlement. These figures are consistent across four secondary sources; the Institute has not read the NCAA’s own implementation document and flags that rather than implying it has.
Two qualifications, and they are the story. First, a roster spot is not a scholarship: the settlement permits nine funded seats and does not require them, and golf competes for those discretionary dollars against the same football budget that takes ninety percent of the revenue-share pool. Several conferences have reportedly instructed coaches to carry eight rather than nine — below the settlement’s own ceiling.
Second, and larger: the hard roster limit eliminated the walk-on. Before the settlement a golf coach could carry a deep bench of unfunded players, which is how late developers in a sport with unusually late physical and competitive maturation found their way onto teams. Nine is nine. Golf traded roster breadth for scholarship depth — better money for the players who make it, and no seat at all for the ones who would have arrived two years later.
So the compensation picture for a college golfer is close to the inverse of a football player’s. The footballer’s money is mostly institutional and capped. The golfer’s money is almost entirely third-party — endorsements, equipment, apparel, agency — which means golf is more exposed than football to anything that changes how third-party deals are policed.
Golf is the only major college sport with a second rulebook running alongside the NCAA’s. Amateur status is what gets a player into the U.S. Amateur, the Walker and Curtis Cups, and the Masters and U.S. Open invitations that flow from them. Losing it is not a technicality.
Endorsement money does not, by itself, cost a golfer amateur status. The USGA and The R&A modernised the Rules of Amateur Status effective January 1, 2022, and under the modernised Rules there are only three ways to forfeit it: accepting a prize above the prize limit, currently $1,000; accepting payment for golf instruction; and taking employment as a club professional. Endorsement income is not on that list.
For a college golfer the USGA sets a three-part test, and all three parts must hold: the NIL activity is permitted under NCAA policy; the golfer remains on a team roster while it takes place; and there is no other breach of the Rules of Amateur Status connected to it.
Three consequences follow, and each is a real trap.
One — the two rulebooks are not independent. The first prong delegates to the NCAA. A deal that breaks an NCAA rule is simultaneously an amateur-status problem, so a compliance failure propagates from one regime into the other rather than staying put.
Two — and this is Institute analysis rather than anything published: the second prong now collides with the first section of this page. Amateur protection is conditioned on being on a roster. The same settlement that funded nine scholarships also capped the roster at nine and removed the walk-on. A golfer who loses a seat loses the NCAA shelter for activity that was unobjectionable the week before. The Institute has found no publisher connecting the roster cap to the amateur-status condition, and states it here as a reading of two sourced rules rather than as a reported finding.
Three — the obvious side job is the prohibited one. A college golfer may take an apparel endorsement without touching amateur status, and forfeits it by giving a paid lesson. The activity most natural to a skilled player is the one the Rules bar, while the commercial arrangement that sounds far more serious is permitted. This is the canonical worked example in the USGA’s own guidance and it is genuinely counterintuitive.
The open question, and the Institute is not going to resolve it. The 2022 Rules were written before institutional revenue sharing existed and do not address it. A direct House-settlement payment from a school to a golfer is not an endorsement, not a prize and not employment — it is a category the Rules do not contemplate. The Institute has found no USGA or R&A statement on whether receiving one affects amateur status. For a sport whose championship structure runs on that status, that is a live and unanswered question, and pretending otherwise would be the easier and worse thing to do here.
Sourcing note: the modernised Rules and the three-part NIL test are described consistently across the USGA’s published guidance and contemporaneous coverage of the 2022 changes. The Institute retrieved this material through secondary summaries rather than the USGA’s own pages, which did not return text on retrieval, and marks it accordingly. Nothing here is legal advice; a golfer with a live deal should route it through their compliance office and, where amateur status matters, confirm with the governing body.
Every third-party NIL agreement at or above $600 is filed with NIL Go, the clearinghouse the College Sports Commission runs with Deloitte, within five business days of signature. Each filing faces a payor-association test and a valid-business-purpose test; deals above a higher threshold also face a twelve-factor range of compensation analysis. The full mechanism, the Commission’s published clearance and rejection record, and what the two thresholds actually do are set out on the college football payroll page, which carries the same clearinghouse section.
What is specific to golf is who has to file, and when. Division I-bound high-school and junior-college golfers must now disclose every NIL deal worth $600 or more before they enroll — reporting begins July 1 or the first day of junior year, whichever is later, and incoming athletes get a two-week window from enrollment to file everything. A single unfiled contract can put eligibility at risk.
In most sports that is a marginal rule. In golf it is the main event, because golf is the sport where the athletes with brands are high schoolers — the two largest valuations in the sport, $3 million and $1 million, both belong to players filing under the pre-enrollment rule rather than the college one. A junior golfer with an equipment deal signed at sixteen is carrying a compliance obligation into a freshman year, and the deal that created it was signed long before anyone mentioned a clearinghouse.
An unanswered structural question. The range-of-compensation test asks whether an amount is commensurate with what similarly situated athletes receive. In a sport where the nationally relevant set is roughly forty people, where no comparable deal value has ever been disclosed, and where the honest comparable may be a professional endorsement rather than a college one, it is not clear what “similarly situated” can mean. The Institute has found no reporting on how the model handles individual sports, and does not know the answer.
The litigation. Ili and Mirer v. NCAA was filed June 9, 2026 in the Northern District of California against the NCAA, the power conferences and the College Sports Commission, alleging that the defendants agreed among themselves to suppress NIL compensation below competitive levels. The plaintiffs are football players and there is no golf plaintiff, but the target is the clearinghouse review itself. Because golf’s compensation is almost entirely third-party, golf is more exposed to the outcome than football is, not less.
The legislation. The Protect College Sports Act, the Cruz–Cantwell bill, cleared a procedural vote in the Senate on September 17, 2026 by 77–22. That vote brought the bill to the floor and was not final passage; the two are routinely conflated. It is not law. The House recessed early and is not scheduled back until after the November midterms.
The eligibility rules. Division I golfers are moving to five seasons inside a five-year window, replacing the five-to-play-four formula, for prospects first enrolling in fall 2027 or later and enrolling no later than the academic year after their nineteenth birthday. A fifth season is a fifth year of NIL earning inside college, which changes the arithmetic of turning professional early.
Printed because a reference page that lists only what it found is not a reference page. Each of these was looked for and not obtained.
Any disclosed dollar value for any college golf NIL deal. None exists in the public record, in either direction, at any school.
A second estimator. On3 publishes no golf board at either level. There is no cross-check for any figure on this page.
Any valuation below $500,000. Structurally withheld by the only estimator — 150 of 160 ranked athletes carry no figure.
A governing-body position on revenue-share payments and amateur status. The Rules predate revenue sharing and are silent.
Revenue-share dollars reaching a named golf program. No school-level allocation to golf was found anywhere.
Individual-sport treatment inside the range-of-compensation model. Nothing published.
Where the Institute has relied on secondary summaries rather than a primary document — the scholarship and roster figures, the amateur-status test, the pre-enrollment disclosure rule — it is said in the section itself rather than collected quietly here. A figure that could not be dated is not printed.
The same reasoning applied to the money in college football: College Football Payroll by School prices all 68 Power 4 rosters against athletic-department revenue and carries the full clearinghouse record. The NIL Payment Disclosure Reference covers which collectives file 990s, what those filings show, and which states shield the numbers from open-records requests. Coaching salaries and buyouts is the other side of the same cost structure. How a College NIL Deal Is Priced sets out the mechanism underneath every figure on this page: the clearinghouse test, the twelve factors, and why a published valuation and a signed contract are not the same quantity.
For athletes and families rather than analysts: what an NIL commitment actually obligates you to, the first-money mistakes that cost the most, and the athlete NIL hub.
This page is a reference, and it is free. What the Institute sells is the reasoning that produces one — how to read a cost structure off a filing, what a revenue base will and will not support, and where the number in a headline came from. The practitioner guides are where that lives; the free library is where to start.
Open the Business of Sports →